Latest Music

The Lyrical Groove is an award-winning band that combines spoken word and live instrumentation, cohesively crafted to inspire and entertain. Blending a musical style that balances elements of Spoken Word, Jazz, Hip Hop, Blues, R&B, Gospel and Soul, The Lyrical Groove infuse a potent message with social consciousness and a spiritual awareness that sings to your humanity and moves your soul.  The Lyrical Groove has won three San Diego Music Awards for Best Hip Hop/Soul Artist  and Album in 2013, 2014 and 2017 respectively. The Lyrical Groove was formed under the motivation of spoken word artist, Kendrick Dial, to have live music accompany his performance poetry and it turned into so much more.

The pursuit of collaboration then began with Louisiana born friend and drummer, Glenn “GK” Sanders and Memphis native keyboardist, Mike Smith. The group officially formed in November 2010, after a gig at the Ruby Room in San Diego, Ca. An overwhelming, affirming crowd response cemented in the group’s mind what their hearts were warming up to. In July 2011, Bay area guitarist, Mike “Token” Benedetto joined, followed by Jacob Miranda on bass and their ultra-talented vocalist Brisa Lauren in 2012. In 2015, life would take the group in a myriad of directions which changed the composition of the band. Although Kendrick remains the glue to the band, the members now include a collective of musicians and vocalists from the San Diego music community that have all influenced the sound of the Lyrical Groove. Brisa remains the primary vocalist, some of San Diego’s well respected vocalists and musicians that also collaborate with the Lyrical Groove on the regular include Rashaad “Shaady G” Graham, Stephen “Steve O” McKinney, Cliff Hotten, Marvina, Cedrice, J. Pierre, Abe Majors, and Noah Williams.